RSS

“Crabby Old Woman”-An anonymous poem which inspired me

13 Dec

https://i0.wp.com/blog.campus-berlin.de/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/Bild3altenpflegera.jpg

Just think of this poem the next time you meet an old person….

“Old age, believe me, is a good and pleasant thing. It is true you are gently shouldered off the stage, but then you are given such a comfortable front stall as spectator.– Confucius

Below is a poem which was found in the belongings of an old woman named Kate who died in a hospital’s geriatric ward. But the poem is believed to be written by Phyllis McCormack, a nurse who worked in a Scottish hospital who actually wrote it for a magazine for the hospital (Sunnyside hospital) but submitted it anonymously as she was shy.

This poem was originally entitled:

“Look closer nurse”

Crabbit Old Woman

What do you see, nurses what do you see

Are you thinking when you are looking at me

A crabbit old woman, not very wise,

Uncertain of habit, with faraway eyes,

Who dribbles her food and makes no reply

When you say in a loud voice –I do wish you’d try

Who seems not to notice the things that you do

And for ever is losing a stocking or shoe,

Who unresisting or not, lets you do as you will

With bathing and feeding, the long day to fill

Is that what you are thinking, is that what you see,

Then open your eyes, nurses, you’re not looking at me.

 

I’ll tell you who I am as I sit here so still,

As I used at your bidding, as I eat at your will,

I am a small child of ten with a father and mother,

Brothers and sisters who love one another,

A young girl of 16 with wings on her feet

Dreaming that soon now a lover she’ll meet;

A bride at 20 — my heart gives a leap,

Remembering the vows that I promised to keep

At 25 now I have young of my own

Who need me to build a secure, happy home;

A women of 30 my young now grow fast,

Bound to each other with ties that should last,

At 40 my young sons have grown and are gone;

But my man’s beside me to see I don’t mourn;

At 50, once more babies play around my knee.

Again we know children, my loved one me

Dark days are upon me, my husband is dead,

I look at the future, I shudder with dread,

For my young are all rearing young of their own

And I think of the years and the love that I’ve known.

 

I’m an old woman now and nature is cruel

’tis her jest to make old age look like a fool.

The body it crumbles, grace and vigor depart,

There is now a stone where once was a heart

But inside this old carcass a young girl still dwells

And now and again my battered heart swells

I remember the joys I remember the pain,

And I’m loving and living life over again.

I think of the years all too few – gone too fast,

And accept the stark fact that nothing can last.

 

So open your eyes, nurses open and see

Not a crabbit old women look closer – see me.

.. . ME!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 13, 2013 in Inspiration

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment